Neko

Banned Books Week: Treasure Your Freedom to Read
CurrentArchivesEmailProfileHostGuestbook
FanfictionLiveJournalInsaneJournal
Fanfiction LiveJournalFanfiction InsaneJournal
It's a mixture of relief, perseverance, and caffeine...and just a little touch of going mad

Yesterday evening at approximately 6:20 PM, I finished NaNoWriMo for my fourth time :D I even finished a day earlier than I have on all my previous tries; the first three times, I completed it on the 28th, but it was the 27th this time. I think this is a sign that I'm getting better at managing my time while I'm doing it, and just enabling myself to sit down and focus when I need to. I'm not going to pretend it was easy, because it wasn't. There were many times when I wanted to do anything but write, but I made myself, because I made a commitment to do this. If anything, I'm not a quitter.

I am so glad I did this. I wasn't even sure I wanted to at first, but it's enabled me to bring the story that I've been writing for four and a half years almost to a close. I'm so close to the end, I can taste it, and it excites me so much. I've had a lot of this planned for so long, and it's nice to finally be writing it. Not that that really matters much, because I more or less shot the entire story to hell. There are some things that are the same, but for the most part, I've had to readjust everything to fit this new insane idea I had. And it is insane. Perhaps the most insane thing I've ever thrown into a story on the spur of the moment.

There were definitely times right after I shot everything to hell that I deeply regretted it. I realized about ten thousand words after the fact that I had a major plothole on my hands, but I've successfully retconned that one. It changed the entire climax, and I had to rearrange everything around the fact that my main character is unconscious for the whole thing! I didn't know what to do with it half the time, but I just forced myself to keep writing, because that's the nature of NaNoWriMo. I let it go where it wanted, and I'm very happy in the end with the way things ended up. I had to have two of my other characters take the lead role, and they completely surprised me along the way. This was really their first scene interacting one on one, or any sort of deeper emotional level, and I never knew they'd have so much chemistry. I see this taking a large role in subsequent stories, because I now enjoy writing them together so much, even from the last few chapters :D I'm just in love with the things going on in the story now, and it made things much more exciting in the end, so I suppose my muse knew what it was doing.

After this story is complete (and I'm not estimating more than five more chapters at the very most, but we all know I suck at guessing), it's onto the next story in the series. I have the main idea of the plot set, but so many details still need to be planned out. But I've become pretty good at winging it thus far, so I think that's what I'm going to do with the next. My muse likes to run wild apparently.

Thank you to my cabinmates for a fun, special, and supportive camp experience. I'll miss you guys, especially complynn, LadyKaitlyn (LK), and bdiamond (Bruce) <3

Current mood: accomplished

Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012 | 1:55 a.m.

Over the Moon


moon phases

Site
Meter