Neko

Banned Books Week: Treasure Your Freedom to Read
CurrentArchivesEmailProfileHostGuestbook
FanfictionLiveJournalInsaneJournal
Fanfiction LiveJournalFanfiction InsaneJournal
In memoriam


Neil Armstrong
August 5, 1930 ~ August 25, 2012

♥ ♥ ♥


"For those who may ask what they can do to honor Neil, we have a simple request. Honor his example of service, accomplishment and modesty, and the next time you walk outside on a clear night and see the moon smiling down at you, think of Neil Armstrong and give him a wink."
~Neil's family

I was (and still am) so upset when I heard the news that Neil Armstrong had passed away. Ever since I saw the movie Apollo 13 when I was fifteen years old, I've been obsessed with the space program. I read and watched anything and everything I could get my hands on about it. I still do, in fact. It's one of my childhood obsessions that carried over into adulthood.

What was really strange was that I hadn't heard the news about this until I got home from work last night. On the whole way home, I had the urge to listen to the song Man On the Moon by R.E.M. I had it on repeat the entire drive home, only to then learn of this awful news afterwards. The past harmonizes.

The world has lost an amazingly brave and heroic man. Although he always said he didn't deserve to be called those things, because he was simply doing his job, I beg to differ. I think bravery is one of those things that people fail to see in themselves a lot of the time. He was also modest as his family said, and if he went around claiming to be the greatest American hero...well, he wouldn't seem so great then <3

Current mood: sad

Sunday, Aug. 26, 2012 | 1:52 a.m.

Over the Moon


moon phases

Site
Meter